PPST Faculty

The faculty for the PPST is interdepartmental. Members are from the departments of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Astrophysical Sciences, Chemistry, and Physics.

PPST Directors

  • Samuel A. Cohen, Astrophysical Sciences and Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
  • James C. Sturm, Electrical Engineering

PPST Executive Committee

  • Jay B. Benziger, Chemical and Biological Engineering
    • Organic Vapor Phase Deposition of Thin Film LEDs and Solar Cells
    • Desulfurization of Hydrocarbon Fuels
    • Dynamics and Control of Hydrogen Fuel Cells
    • New Polymer Composite Materials for Fuel Cells
  • Edgar Y. Choueiri, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
    • Plasma Propulsion for Spacecraft
    • Plasma Instabilities and Turbulence in Collisional Low-temperature Plasmas
    • Plasma Dynamics in Space and Laboratory Devices
    • Astronautics
  • Samuel A. Cohen, Astrophysical Sciences and Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
    • Aneutronic FRC Fusion Reactor Research
    • Plasma Flow through Apertures
  • Nathaniel J. Fisch, Astrophysical Sciences and Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
    • Plasma Waves
    • Current Drive
    • Laser/Plasma Interaction
    • Plasma Propulsion
  • Bruce E. Koel, Chemical and Biological Engineering
    • Plasma-materials Interactions
    • Liquid Metals and Alloys
    • Heterogeneous Catalysis
    • Surface Characterization and Imaging
  • Stephen A. Lyon, Electrical Engineering
    • Device Physics
    • Quantum Dots in Devices
    • Quantum Computing
  • Herschel A. Rabitz, Chemistry
    • Controlling Events at the Atomic and Molecular Scales with Shaped Laser Pulses acting as Photonic Reagents
    • Accelerating the Discovery of Complex Materials Formulations and Efficacious Molecules for Targeted Applications
  • Michael V. Romalis, Physics
    • Applications of Atomic Physics Techniques
    • Ultra-sensitive Atomic Magnetometers
    • Tests of Lorentz and CPT Symmetry
    • Development of quantum-limited Atomic Sensors
  • James C. Sturm, Electrical Engineering
    • Forming Microelectronics and Macroelectronics
    • Large-area Electronics, Organic Light Emitting Diodes, Thin Film Transistors
    • Flat Panel and Flexible Displays
    • Biological Applications of Nanostructures

PPST Executive Committee Emeritus